FAQs - Mariam C. Noland Award for Nonprofit Leadership

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

Why was the Mariam C. Noland Award for Nonprofit Leadership created?
The Board of Trustees of the Community Foundation for Southeast Michigan established the Award to recognize Mariam C. Noland on her twenty-fifth anniversary as president of the Community Foundation. The Board of Trustees wanted to honor Ms. Noland’s service to the Community Foundation and to the broader philanthropic community in southeast Michigan.

While Ms. Noland’s accomplishments to-date as president of the Community Foundation are themselves many and worthy of recognition, the Board wished to acknowledge her leadership in the broader philanthropic community and the many other charitable causes and entities that she has supported, nurtured and counseled. All of her efforts have benefitted philanthropy throughout southeast Michigan – and beyond.

Can anyone who works for a nonprofit organization be nominated?
Only the chief executive of an area nonprofit organization may be nominated. The title may vary (president, chief executive officer, etc.) but the nominee must be the current chief executive of the organization.

Are there restrictions regarding the type of organization the individual leads?
Nominations of current presidents or chief executive officers of only 501(c)(3) nonprofits based in Wayne, Oakland, Macomb, Washtenaw, Livingston, Monroe or St. Clair counties will be accepted.

Can I nominate a family member or myself?
Nominations may come from any source.

What makes an individual worthy of nomination?
The Community Foundation encourages nomination of individuals whose leadership is exceptional and exemplifies excellence and influence not only within his/her nonprofit organization, but also within the wider nonprofit sector. This may be demonstrated through field leadership, engagement in other nonprofit boards, informing policy, innovative and influential programming, and active engagement in regional, statewide or national issues of importance to the sector.

Can I print out the nomination form and mail or fax it to the Community Foundation?
Nominations will only be accepted using the online nomination form available at www.CFSEM.org.

What is the nomination deadline?
Nominations will be accepted until April 15, 2011.

What is the total amount of the Award?
The Mariam C. Noland Award for Nonprofit Leadership will provide a one-time grant of $10,000. The $10,000 award is made as a grant in support of the general operations to the nonprofit organization lead by the winner, with a preference that the grant award be used to allow the chief executive to pursue continuing professional education, to take a personal sabbatical for career rejuvenation, or to engage in philanthropic leadership activities.

How will the winner be notified?
The Award winner and the associated nominator will be notified by telephone of the selection no later than June 1, 2011. 

When will the award winner be announced publicly?
The Award will be presented to the winner at the June 17, 2011, annual meeting of the Community Foundation for Southeast Michigan Board of Trustees at the Detroit Athletic Club.

Back to Program Overview